How did Andrea Kay Tutoring start?

14 Mar

I was in final round interviews with two major companies here in the SF Bay Area. You’ve probably heard of them. One of them is the number one search engine in the world and the other one just came out with the 2nd version of the Ipad. The latter had just given me the numbers in terms of comp and all that good stuff and I was really excited. I called a a very wise woman (aka my Mom, a life-long music teacher and founder of Center for Lifelong Music Making http://www.LifelongMusicMaking.org [delete-http://www.lifelongmusicmaking.org/page/page/2239187.htm) ]
and after listening patiently while I rattled off all the “perks” of the job, she asked me “So, Andrea, what will you be DOING in this job?”
“What do you mean, Mom,” I responded. “I told you, I’d be an account manager for them!”
“Yes I understand that Andrea, but what will you actually be doing from 8am-6pm every day and why are you excited about doing that type of work?”
Well, as usual when my Mom asks questions like this, I started getting irritated. Didn’t she understand ANYTHING about the internet?!
“Well Mom, I’ll be doing things like, uhm, managing clients, and helping them and, well….” (I’ll spare you the rest….)
Basically I couldn’t tell her what I’d be doing, nor why I wanted to do it. All I could do is tell her was about how impressive the companies were, how much chance for advancement there’d be, how much travelling I’d be doing, etc.
The thing was, somehow she knew my heart wasn’t in it. What, was she reading my diary or something analogous? Come to think of it, I doubt I wrote anything in there about it, because even I didn’t realize how unfulfilled I was. Disclaimer-NO offense to anyone who works at these behemoths of Silicon Valley—to each her own!
So, after getting really honest with myself (never fun to start off with), I decided I wanted to teach. Problem was, it was November [delete of] 2007 and school was already in session. So, I took a job at the first tutoring place that hired me and well, I grew to love tutoring so much and was so successful in changing the kid’s lives I tutored (taking them from B students to A students or taking them from unmotivated D students to B students, getting them high SAT scores, teaching them how to study, how to read, how to deal with teachers etc), that I decided to make tutoring my full time job, and eventually run my own business . I can’t ever imagine doing anything else other than teaching, coaching, guiding and helping!!!

Leave a Reply

